ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta

Title: Only on the Weekends
Author: Dean Atta
Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group
Release Date: May 24th, 2022
Page Length: 368
Genre: Contemporary | Romance |Novel in Verse
Age Range: YA
Rep: Black, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the Stonewall Award-winning author of The Black Flamingo comes a romantic coming-of-age novel in verse about the beautiful–and sometimes painful–fallout of pursuing the love we deserve. The ideal next read for fans of Kacen Callender, Elizabeth Acevedo, and Becky Albertalli.

Fifteen-year-old Mack is a hopeless romantic–likely a hazard of growing up on film sets thanks to his father’s job. Mack has had a crush on Karim for as long as he can remember and he can’t believe it when gorgeous, popular Karim seems into him too.

But when Mack’s father takes on a new directing project in Scotland, Mack has to move away, and soon discovers how painful long-distance relationships can be. It’s awful to be so far away from Karim, and it’s made worse by the fact that Karim can be so hard to read.

Then Mack meets actor Finlay on set, and the world turns upside down again. Fin seems fearless–and his confidence could just be infectious.

Award-winning author Dean Atta crafts a beautifully nuanced and revelatory story in verse about the exquisite highs and lows of first love and self-discovery. 

Continue reading “ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta”

Book Tour:  The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes | Author Interview

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for  The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes. This cover popped and I was so excited to read another queer Latinx story and I’ve heard nothing but amazing things about this! Want to find out exactly what everyone thought? Scroll to the bottom where you can find the tour schedule and links to other content creators.

Thank you to Sonora Reyes for taking the time to answer my questions. You can find the interview after meet the author and book info.

Continue reading “Book Tour:  The Lesbiana’s Guide to Catholic School by Sonora Reyes | Author Interview”

Book Tour: Hollow Fires by Samira Ahmed | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Hollow Fires by Samira Ahmed. I’ve been reading more and more mystery/thrillers/horrors lately, and when I saw this was a tour, I was immediately interested. This sounds like a powerful read and I have high expectations after being compared to Sadie! I’ve also been meaning to read from this author for a long time now, so I really should pick this up soon than later lol.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Hollow Fires by Samira Ahmed | Spotlight”

Book Tour: Dead End Girls by Wendy Heard | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Dead End Girls by Wendy Heard. This sounds like such an interesting thriller and I can’t wait to pick it up. Be sure to scroll down to the bottom to see the tour schedule and other content creator’s thoughts.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Dead End Girls by Wendy Heard | Spotlight”

Book Tour: Girl Overboard by Sandra Block | Interview

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Girl Overboard by Sandra Block. This sounds so good and the first chapter really did have me hooked, just sadly behind and wasn’t able to fit it in before the tour. That being said, I was lucky enough to get an interview with Sandra, which you can see below. Want to know what other’s thought? Scroll to the bottom to see the tour schedule and links to other content creators.

Thank you Sandra for taking the time to answer my questions.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Girl Overboard by Sandra Block | Interview”

Book Tour: The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim. I’ve been really into books with K-drama or K-Pop elements, so when I read the description of The Noh Family I knew I had to read it. One of my most anticipated in May – and when I catch up in reading I will be picking this up so watch out for that review. In the meantime, scroll all the way down to the Tour Schedule to find out what other content creators thought!

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim | Spotlight”

Review: A Touch of Gold by Annie Sullivan

36575823Title: A Touch of Gold
Author: Annie Sullivan
Series: Touch of Gold (Book 1)
Release Date: August 14th, 2018, Blink
Page Length: 313
Genre: Fantasy, Retelling
Age Range: YA
Rating: 5/5
Goodreads Synopsis: King Midas once had the ability to turn all he touched into gold. But after his gift—or curse—almost killed his daughter, Midas relinquished The Touch forever. Ten years later, Princess Kora still bears the consequences of her father’s wish: her skin shines golden, rumors follow her everywhere she goes, and she harbors secret powers that are getting harder to hide.

Kora spends her days locked in the palace, concealed behind gloves and veils, trying to ignore the stares and gossip of courtiers. It isn’t until a charming young duke arrives that Kora realizes there may be someone out there who doesn’t fear her or her curse. But their courtship is disrupted when a thief steals precious items from the kingdom, leaving the treasury depleted and King Midas vulnerable. Thanks to her unique ability to sense gold, Kora is the only one who can track the thief down. As she sails off on her quest, Kora learns that not everything is what it seems—not thieves, not pirates, and not even curses. She quickly discovers that gold—and the power it brings—is more dangerous than she’d ever believed.

Midas learned his lesson at a price. What will Kora’s journey cost?

Goodreads – Amazon – Chapters|Indigo – Book Depository


Let me start off first by saying this is a gorgeous cover!  This alone made me want to pick it up.  Then I was told it was a King Midas retelling – intrigued I haven’t read one of those yet.  Lastly, I heard there were pirates.  Then I just had to pick it up! I had to know how a King Midas retelling became a pirate story.  Lucky for me I wasn’t disappointed.

Now let me just say this, I have never read the story of King Midas, but I knew the basics – everything he touched turned to gold.  So I do not have the context necessarily of how closely A Touch of Gold follows the story of King Midas.  However, I do not feel that this affected my enjoyment of the book.

Without going into spoilers, I will attempt to tell you how much I enjoyed this book and why.  It will be hard because I want to share so much about this book, but I want you to go experience the book yourself!

First, the characters.  I LOVED Kora and her cousin Hettie.  Kora is such a beautiful character with such love for her family.  Hettie is your typical “spoiled” girl who loves to be waited on and loves to eat all things fancy.  Duke Aris Wystlinos is Kora’s most recent suitor.  I found myself not trusting him throughout this book – he just seemed too understanding and put together.  When Kora leaves to track the treasure, you met an interesting bunch of characters.  You will meet twins, Phipps and Thipps, who I found to be the sweetest and funniest characters in this book.  Brus is an untrusting sailor who is extremely superstitious – of course that means I don’t like him.  The captain of the ship, Royce, was so standoffish that I wasn’t sure what to make of him, but suspected he would play a larger part in Kora’s story.  Another character I will mention is Rhat, who seems to be Royce’s first mate.  When we first meet Rhat, I found him adorable – and there is no rhyme or reason for it.  I just decided he was sweet and smitten.

Annie has a way of writing a story that makes you fall in love!  I loved her characters and I felt invested in the adventure.  I found myself laughing and crying and swearing at different points throughout the story.  I can picture the ship and, with the descriptiveness of Annie’s writing, I was able to experience Kora’s connection to the gold treasures.

Looking back, I cannot think of a part of the book that I disliked.  Annie writes beautifully and I fell in love with the characters.  I wanted adventure and she delivered.  If I was to complain about anything it would be the fact that there wasn’t more.  But really is that a complaint?  There will be another book filled with more adventures – I am assuming because I refuse to read the synopsis of Book 2 – this series is an auto-buy for me so does it really matter?

Needless to say, I highly recommend reading this!  It surpassed my expectations.  If you do get a chance to read this November 23/24th, we will be discussing it over on the TBR and Beyond Facebook Group.  Annie has already done her live chat there, but you are still able to view the video – she is too sweet and funny.

-BOOKS & TABLETS (1)