Mini ARC Review: Golden Girl by Reem Faruqi

Title: Golden Girl
Author: Reem Faruqi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: February 22nd, 2022
Page Length: 336
Genre: Novel-in-Verse
Age Range: Middle Grade
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsStoryGraphAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

A coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what’s right isn’t always easy.

Continue reading “Mini ARC Review: Golden Girl by Reem Faruqi”

Recommendations: Nine 2022 LGBTQIA+ Reads

I find myself wanting to make recommendations lists from time to time, but don’t always have a specific post or reason in mind. With that thought in mind, I’d thought from time to time I’d do random recommendations. These recommendations could fit a theme of the month or genre’s I’ve been gravitating towards. This is only my second one, first one was Five Adult RomComs all the way back in February (but I think I have another one coming a lot sooner!).

I’ve read so many amazing LGBTQIA+ books this year already that I wanted to share some. I decided to be super specific this time a pick only 2022 releases! I may have to do a Part 2 near the end of the year the way things are going because I had originally planned only 5 but couldn’t cute enough lol! So without further adieu, let’s get into it!

Continue reading “Recommendations: Nine 2022 LGBTQIA+ Reads”

ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta

Title: Only on the Weekends
Author: Dean Atta
Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group
Release Date: May 24th, 2022
Page Length: 368
Genre: Contemporary | Romance |Novel in Verse
Age Range: YA
Rep: Black, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the Stonewall Award-winning author of The Black Flamingo comes a romantic coming-of-age novel in verse about the beautiful–and sometimes painful–fallout of pursuing the love we deserve. The ideal next read for fans of Kacen Callender, Elizabeth Acevedo, and Becky Albertalli.

Fifteen-year-old Mack is a hopeless romantic–likely a hazard of growing up on film sets thanks to his father’s job. Mack has had a crush on Karim for as long as he can remember and he can’t believe it when gorgeous, popular Karim seems into him too.

But when Mack’s father takes on a new directing project in Scotland, Mack has to move away, and soon discovers how painful long-distance relationships can be. It’s awful to be so far away from Karim, and it’s made worse by the fact that Karim can be so hard to read.

Then Mack meets actor Finlay on set, and the world turns upside down again. Fin seems fearless–and his confidence could just be infectious.

Award-winning author Dean Atta crafts a beautifully nuanced and revelatory story in verse about the exquisite highs and lows of first love and self-discovery. 

Continue reading “ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta”