Mini ARC Review: Golden Girl by Reem Faruqi

Title: Golden Girl
Author: Reem Faruqi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: February 22nd, 2022
Page Length: 336
Genre: Novel-in-Verse
Age Range: Middle Grade
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsStoryGraphAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

A coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what’s right isn’t always easy.

Continue reading “Mini ARC Review: Golden Girl by Reem Faruqi”

Book Tour: On the Subject of Unmentionable Things by Julia Walton | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for On the Subject of Unmentionable Things by Julia Walton. This sounds like such a great read dealing with sex ed and social media – sounds like it could be in the vein of The Birds, The Bees and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh and The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven. Links to other content creators and their thoughts can be found in the tour schedule near the end of the post.

Continue reading “Book Tour: On the Subject of Unmentionable Things by Julia Walton | Spotlight”

Review: Alice Austen Lived Here by Alex Gino

Title: Alice Austen Lived Here
Author: Alex Gino
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: June 7th, 2022
Page Length: 176
Genre: Contemporary
Age Range: Middle Grade
Rep: Queer, Nonbinary
Rating: 4.25⭐

GoodreadsStoryGraphAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the award-winning author of Melissa, a phenomenal novel about queerness past, present, and future.

Sam is very in touch with their own queer identity. They’re nonbinary, and their best friend, TJ, is nonbinary as well. Sam’s family is very cool with it… as long as Sam remembers that nonbinary kids are also required to clean their rooms, do their homework, and try not to antagonize their teachers too much.

Continue reading “Review: Alice Austen Lived Here by Alex Gino”

Book Tour: The Daredevils by Rob Buyea | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Daredevils by Rob Buyea. I can’t help but be drawn to this book with all the animal shadows on the cover! Plus I’ve been wanting to read more sibling Middle Grade stories! To find out others thoughts on The Daredevils, be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for links to other content creators.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Daredevils by Rob Buyea | Spotlight”

Book Tour: It’s All In How You Fall by Sarah Henning | Author Interview & Review

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for It’s All In How You Fall by Sarah Henning. I had only read Sea Witch by Sarah Henning before reading It’s All In How You Fall, so I was curious how her writing would work in a contemporary setting. My full thoughts are below, but I was very pleasantly surprised! I was also lucky enough to get an interview with Sarah Henning, which you can find before my review.

Thank you to Sarah Henning and Poppy for sending me a copy for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: It’s All In How You Fall by Sarah Henning | Author Interview & Review”

Book Tour: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann | Author Interview

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann. This middle grade screams my kind of book! First the cover caught my attention then I found out it has comic strips included, and I was sold! I was lucky enough to get an interview with Reese and I can’t wait to share her answers. You can also find the tour schedule below where you can find links to other content creators for their thoughts on Etta Invincible.

Thank you Reese Eschmann for taking the time to answer my questions!

Continue reading “Book Tour: Etta Invincible by Reese Eschmann | Author Interview”

Book Tour: Goth Girl, Queen of the Universe by Lindsay S Zrull | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Goth Girl, Queen of the Universe by Lindsay S Zrull. I have been wanting to pick this up since I first saw the cover! First off, the cover is my dream aesthetic, once I wish I could pull off lol. Second, I’m drawn to books with Goth on the title – I blame my teenage years lol. I can wait to finally pick this up! You can find links to other content creators, where you can find out their thoughts in the mean time.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Goth Girl, Queen of the Universe by Lindsay S Zrull | Spotlight”

Book Tour: Sometime in Summer by Katrina Leno | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Sometime in Summer by Katrina Leno. Adding another Katrina Leno to my TBR… one day I should binge all of her books I own lol. Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators and their thoughts.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Sometime in Summer by Katrina Leno | Spotlight”

Recommendations: Nine 2022 LGBTQIA+ Reads

I find myself wanting to make recommendations lists from time to time, but don’t always have a specific post or reason in mind. With that thought in mind, I’d thought from time to time I’d do random recommendations. These recommendations could fit a theme of the month or genre’s I’ve been gravitating towards. This is only my second one, first one was Five Adult RomComs all the way back in February (but I think I have another one coming a lot sooner!).

I’ve read so many amazing LGBTQIA+ books this year already that I wanted to share some. I decided to be super specific this time a pick only 2022 releases! I may have to do a Part 2 near the end of the year the way things are going because I had originally planned only 5 but couldn’t cute enough lol! So without further adieu, let’s get into it!

Continue reading “Recommendations: Nine 2022 LGBTQIA+ Reads”

Book Tour: Before Takeoff by Adi Alsaid | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Before Takeoff by Adi Alsaid. When I first found out about this book, I knew it was one I would want to read. And don’t get me started on how much I love that cover! Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators and their thoughts.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Before Takeoff by Adi Alsaid | Spotlight”