ARC Review: Hell Followed With Us by Andrew Joseph White

Title: Hell Followed With Us
Author: Andrew Joseph White
Publisher: Peachtree Teen
Release Date: June 7th, 2022
Page Length: 416
Genre: Horror | Fantasy
Age Range: YA
Rep: Autistic, Nonbinary, Transgender, Queer, Gay
Rating: 3.5⭐

GoodreadsStoryGraphAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

Prepare to die. His kingdom is near.

Sixteen-year-old trans boy Benji is on the run from the cult that raised him—the fundamentalist sect that unleashed Armageddon and decimated the world’s population. Desperately, he searches for a place where the cult can’t get their hands on him, or more importantly, on the bioweapon they infected him with.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Hell Followed With Us by Andrew Joseph White”

Mini ARC Review: Golden Girl by Reem Faruqi

Title: Golden Girl
Author: Reem Faruqi
Publisher: HarperCollins
Release Date: February 22nd, 2022
Page Length: 336
Genre: Novel-in-Verse
Age Range: Middle Grade
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsStoryGraphAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

A coming-of-age middle grade novel in verse about seventh grader Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakistani American girl who hatches a special plan to help her family but finds that doing what’s right isn’t always easy.

Continue reading “Mini ARC Review: Golden Girl by Reem Faruqi”

ARC Review: A Lady for a Duke by Alexis Hall

Title: A Lady for a Duke
Author: Alexis Hall
Publisher: Forever Publishing
Release Date: May 24th, 2022
Page Length: 480
Genre: Historical Romance
Age Range: Adult
Rep: Transgender, Lesbian, Queer/Questioning, Physical Disability, PTSD
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

A lush, sweeping queer historical romance from the bestselling author of Boyfriend Material—perfect for fans of Netflix’s Bridgerton, Evie Dunmore, and Manda Collins!

When Viola Caroll was presumed dead at Waterloo she took the opportunity to live, at last, as herself. But freedom does not come without a price, and Viola paid for hers with the loss of her wealth, her title, and her closest companion, Justin de Vere, the Duke of Gracewood.

Only when their families reconnect, years after the war, does Viola learn how deep that loss truly was. Shattered without her, Gracewood has retreated so far into grief that Viola barely recognises her old friend in the lonely, brooding man he has become.

As Viola strives to bring Gracewood back to himself, fresh desires give new names to old feelings. Feelings that would have been impossible once and may be impossible still, but which Viola cannot deny. Even if they cost her everything, all over again.

Continue reading “ARC Review: A Lady for a Duke by Alexis Hall”

ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta

Title: Only on the Weekends
Author: Dean Atta
Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group
Release Date: May 24th, 2022
Page Length: 368
Genre: Contemporary | Romance |Novel in Verse
Age Range: YA
Rep: Black, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the Stonewall Award-winning author of The Black Flamingo comes a romantic coming-of-age novel in verse about the beautiful–and sometimes painful–fallout of pursuing the love we deserve. The ideal next read for fans of Kacen Callender, Elizabeth Acevedo, and Becky Albertalli.

Fifteen-year-old Mack is a hopeless romantic–likely a hazard of growing up on film sets thanks to his father’s job. Mack has had a crush on Karim for as long as he can remember and he can’t believe it when gorgeous, popular Karim seems into him too.

But when Mack’s father takes on a new directing project in Scotland, Mack has to move away, and soon discovers how painful long-distance relationships can be. It’s awful to be so far away from Karim, and it’s made worse by the fact that Karim can be so hard to read.

Then Mack meets actor Finlay on set, and the world turns upside down again. Fin seems fearless–and his confidence could just be infectious.

Award-winning author Dean Atta crafts a beautifully nuanced and revelatory story in verse about the exquisite highs and lows of first love and self-discovery. 

Continue reading “ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta”

Book Tour: The Science of Being Angry by Nicole Melleby| Review

Welcome to my stop on the Book Tour for The Science of Being Angry by Nicole Melleby. I have read every Nicole Melleby I have been able to find (except for the short story collection she co-edited – soon!) and I was so excited to be able read this early.  Thank you to Nicole Melleby and Algonquin Young Readers for providing me with an eARC for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Science of Being Angry by Nicole Melleby| Review”