Review: When You Get the Chance by Tom Ryan & Robin Stevenson (ARC)

When You Get the Chance: Ryan, Tom, Stevenson, Robin ...

Title: When You Get the Chance
Author: Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson
Publisher: Running Press Kids
Release Date:
May 4, 2021
Page Length: 384
Genre: Contemporary
Rep: LGBTQIA+
Age Range: YA
Rating: 4 ⭐
Goodreads Synopsis: Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary YA novel — perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli.
As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight between their parents put an end to the annual event. Living on opposite coasts — Mark in Halifax and Talia in Victoria — they haven’t seen each other in years. When their grandfather dies unexpectedly, Mark and Talia find themselves reunited at the cottage once again, cleaning it out while the family decides what to do with it.
Mark and Talia are both queer, but they soon realize that’s about all they have in common, other than the fact that they’d both prefer to be in Toronto. Talia is desperate to see her high school sweetheart Erin, who’s barely been in touch since leaving to spend the summer working at a coffee shop in the Gay Village. Mark, on the other hand, is just looking for some fun, and Toronto Pride seems like the perfect place to find it.
When a series of complications throws everything up in the air, Mark and Talia — with Mark’s little sister Paige in tow — decide to hit the road for Toronto. With a bit of luck, and some help from a series of unexpected new friends, they might just make it to the big city and find what they’re looking for. That is, if they can figure out how to start seeing things through each other’s eyes.

GoodreadsAmazonChapter| Indigo – Book Depository

Thank you to Tom Ryan, Robin Stevenson and Running Press Kids for providing me with an eARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “Review: When You Get the Chance by Tom Ryan & Robin Stevenson (ARC)”

Review: Parasol Protectorate Series (or at least what I read)

Well this started out will good intensions. I started this series in January 2021 and I wanted to review it, but I didn’t have a lot to say about the first in the series. So I decided that I’d my first ever series review! I had planned to talk a little bit about each book individually, and hopefully a review of what I thought as a whole, that way it’ll all be in one place. What ended up happening… I read books 1 and 2 then ended up reading about 1/3 of book 3 and decided to DNF (Did Not Finish) it. So here’s what I thought of the series (or at least of what I read).

Continue reading “Review: Parasol Protectorate Series (or at least what I read)”

Book Tour: The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody | Review

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody. I loved Foody’s other series so when a tour came up for it, I couldn’t help but join. Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Thank you to Amanda Foody and Margaret K McElderry Books for providing me with an ARC for this review

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody | Review”

Book Tour: My Last Summer with Cass by Mark Crilley | Review & Favourite Panels

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for My Last Summer with Cass by Mark Crilley. I was so excited when we scheduled this tour and couldn’t wait to start. Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Thank you to Mark Crilley and Little, Brown Books for Young Readers for providing me with an ARC for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: My Last Summer with Cass by Mark Crilley | Review & Favourite Panels”

Friday Favourites | Books Received as Gifts

Friday Favourites was originally hosted by Kibby on Something of the Book, but is now hosted by Geeky Galaxy. The rules are:

  • There is a list of bookish topics
  • Write up your post, however you feel, following the topic. Your list can be a list of 2 or a list of 50, whatever you feel like. Go wild!
  • Don’t want to write your favourites? I fully support a list of least favourites too!
Continue reading “Friday Favourites | Books Received as Gifts”

Review: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki

A Touch of Gold: Amazon.ca: Sullivan, Annie: Books

Title: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me
Author: Mariko Tamaki, Rosemary Valero-O’Connell (Illustrations)
Publisher: First Second
Release Date: May 7, 2019
Page Length: 289
Genre: Contemporary | Romance | LGBTQIA+
Age Range: YA
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook Depository IndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

All Freddy Riley wants is for Laura Dean to stop breaking up with her.

The day they got together was the best one of Freddy’s life, but nothing’s made sense since. Laura Dean is popular, funny, and SO CUTE … but she can be really thoughtless, even mean. Their on-again, off-again relationship has Freddy’s head spinning — and Freddy’s friends can’t understand why she keeps going back.

When Freddy consults the services of a local mystic, the mysterious Seek-Her, she isn’t thrilled with the advice she receives. But something’s got to give: Freddy’s heart is breaking in slow motion, and she may be about to lose her very best friend as well as her last shred of self-respect. Fortunately for Freddy, there are new friends, and the insight of advice columnist Anna Vice, to help her through being a teenager in love.

Mariko Tamaki and Rosemary Valero-O’Connell bring to life a sweet and spirited tale of young love that asks us to consider what happens when we ditch the toxic relationships we crave to embrace the healthy ones we need.

Continue reading “Review: Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up with Me by Mariko Tamaki”

Book Tour: I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre | Review

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre. I was so excited when we scheduled this tour and couldn’t wait to start. Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Thank you to Auriane Desombre and Underline for providing me with an eARC for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: I Think I Love You by Auriane Desombre | Review”

Friday Favourites | Books with Colour in the Title

Friday Favourites was originally hosted by Kibby on Something of the Book, but is now hosted by Geeky Galaxy. The rules are:

  • There is a list of bookish topics
  • Write up your post, however you feel, following the topic. Your list can be a list of 2 or a list of 50, whatever you feel like. Go wild!
  • Don’t want to write your favourites? I fully support a list of least favourites too!
Continue reading “Friday Favourites | Books with Colour in the Title”

Book Tour: Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi | Interview with the author & Review

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi. I was so excited and honoured when I was picked to do an interview with Jessica Verdi! Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Thank you to Jessica Verdi and Scholastic Press for providing me with an ARC for this review

Continue reading “Book Tour: Follow Your Arrow by Jessica Verdi | Interview with the author & Review”

Friday Favourites | Books from My Favourite Genre

Friday Favourites was originally hosted by Kibby on Something of the Book, but is now hosted by Geeky Galaxy. The rules are:

  • There is a list of bookish topics
  • Write up your post, however you feel, following the topic. Your list can be a list of 2 or a list of 50, whatever you feel like. Go wild!
  • Don’t want to write your favourites? I fully support a list of least favourites too!
Continue reading “Friday Favourites | Books from My Favourite Genre”