ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta

Title: Only on the Weekends
Author: Dean Atta
Publisher: Hachette Children’s Group
Release Date: May 24th, 2022
Page Length: 368
Genre: Contemporary | Romance |Novel in Verse
Age Range: YA
Rep: Black, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the Stonewall Award-winning author of The Black Flamingo comes a romantic coming-of-age novel in verse about the beautiful–and sometimes painful–fallout of pursuing the love we deserve. The ideal next read for fans of Kacen Callender, Elizabeth Acevedo, and Becky Albertalli.

Fifteen-year-old Mack is a hopeless romantic–likely a hazard of growing up on film sets thanks to his father’s job. Mack has had a crush on Karim for as long as he can remember and he can’t believe it when gorgeous, popular Karim seems into him too.

But when Mack’s father takes on a new directing project in Scotland, Mack has to move away, and soon discovers how painful long-distance relationships can be. It’s awful to be so far away from Karim, and it’s made worse by the fact that Karim can be so hard to read.

Then Mack meets actor Finlay on set, and the world turns upside down again. Fin seems fearless–and his confidence could just be infectious.

Award-winning author Dean Atta crafts a beautifully nuanced and revelatory story in verse about the exquisite highs and lows of first love and self-discovery. 

Continue reading “ARC Review: Only on the Weekends by Dean Atta”

Book Tour: The Science of Being Angry by Nicole Melleby| Review

Welcome to my stop on the Book Tour for The Science of Being Angry by Nicole Melleby. I have read every Nicole Melleby I have been able to find (except for the short story collection she co-edited – soon!) and I was so excited to be able read this early.  Thank you to Nicole Melleby and Algonquin Young Readers for providing me with an eARC for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Science of Being Angry by Nicole Melleby| Review”

Book Tour: Duet by Elise Broach | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Duet by Elise Broach. This seems like it will be a heartfelt middle grade with a lot of music. I’ve been enjoying books with musical elements in it, so I’m hoping to enjoy this too once I’m able to get to it. If you’re curious about other’s thoughts, scroll down to the bottom where you can see the tour’s schedule along with links to their blog/Instagram.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Duet by Elise Broach | Spotlight”

Book Tour: The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim. I’ve been really into books with K-drama or K-Pop elements, so when I read the description of The Noh Family I knew I had to read it. One of my most anticipated in May – and when I catch up in reading I will be picking this up so watch out for that review. In the meantime, scroll all the way down to the Tour Schedule to find out what other content creators thought!

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Noh Family by Grace K. Shim | Spotlight”

Review: The Grave Thief by Dee Hahn

Title: The Grave Thief
Author: Dee Hahn
Publisher: Puffin Books
Release Date: May 1st, 2022
Page Length: 344
Genre: Fantasy
Age Range: Middle Grade
Rep: physical disability (mc)
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

A twelve-year-old grave thief gets caught up in a royal heist in this compelling middle-grade fantasy in the vein of Kelley Armstrong’s A Royal Guide to Monster Slaying.

Continue reading “Review: The Grave Thief by Dee Hahn”

Book Tour: Mapmakers and the Lost Magic by Cameron Chittock and Amanda Castillo | Review

Happy Book Birthday and welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Mapmakers and the Lost Magic by Cameron Chittock and Amanda Castillo. I absolutely love this cover and the story sounded fun – plus, it’s unlikely I’ll ever say no to a graphic novel!

Thank you to Cameron Chittock, Amanda Castillo and Random House Graphic for providing me with an ARC for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Mapmakers and the Lost Magic by Cameron Chittock and Amanda Castillo | Review”

Book Tour: Jordie and Joey Fell From the Sky by Judi Lauren | Review & Author Interview

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Jordie and Joey Fell From the Sky by Judi Lauren. When I was lucky enough to get an interview with Judi Lauren I immediately started reading to get some question ideas – I was immediately hooked! Scroll down for my full thoughts and interview with Judi! Also, make sure to check out the tour schedule for other content creator’s thoughts at the bottom.

Thank you to Judi Lauren and Jolly Fish Press for providing me with an ARC for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Jordie and Joey Fell From the Sky by Judi Lauren | Review & Author Interview”

Review: An Unexpected Peril (Veronica Speedwell #6) by Deanna Raybourn

Title: An Unexpected Peril
Series Veronica Speedwell #6
Author: Deanna Raybourn
Publisher: Berkley
Release Date: March 2nd, 2021
Page Length: 336
Genre: Mystery | Historical | Romance
Age Range: Adult
Rating: 4.5⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

A princess is missing, and a peace treaty is on the verge of collapse in this new Veronica Speedwell adventure from the New York Times bestselling and Edgar Award-nominated author Deanna Raybourn.

Continue reading “Review: An Unexpected Peril (Veronica Speedwell #6) by Deanna Raybourn”

Review: It Eats What Feeds It by Max Hoven, Aaron Crown, and Gabriel Iumazark (Illustrator) ARC

Title: It Eats What Feeds It
Author: Max Hoven, Aaron Crown, and Gabriel Iumazark (Illustrator)
Publisher: Scout Comics
Release Date: April 26th, 2022
Page Length: 80
Genre: Graphic Novel | Horror
Age Range: Adult
Rating: 3⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

It Eats What Feeds It is a gothic romance comic book series set in the mystic bayou of Louisiana written by Max Hoven and Aaron Crow and Illustrated by Gabriel Iumazark, published by Scout Comics.

In this grimy horror romp, Francois, a stunning middle-aged woman, has developed a worsening affliction and seeks a young caretaker to upkeep her lavish creole mansion deep in the mystic bayou of Louisiana.  Kenny, a teenage halfwit looking for a summer job, stumbles right to her doorstep. Free rent, free meals, high pay, easy work, and a provocative boss… what’s there for Kenny to refuse? Well, there’s the blood-covered kitchen spilling over with raw meat and the bolt-locked steel-plated attic door he’s restricted access to. Are these red flags worth the risk of missing out on a wild summer romance?  

Continue reading “Review: It Eats What Feeds It by Max Hoven, Aaron Crown, and Gabriel Iumazark (Illustrator) ARC”

Book Tour: Scout is Not a Band Kid by Jade Armstrong | Review

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Scout is Not a Band Kid by Jade Armstrong. When I first found out about this book, I knew it was one I would want to read. And don’t get me started on how much I love that cover! Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Thank you to Jade Armstrong and Random House Graphic for providing me with an ARC for this review.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Scout is Not a Band Kid by Jade Armstrong | Review”