Review: Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall

A Touch of Gold: Amazon.ca: Sullivan, Annie: Books

Title: Squad
Author: Maggie Tokuda-Hall (Illustrator: Lisa, Sterle)
Publisher: Greenwillow Books (HarperCollins)
Release Date: October 5th, 2021
Page Length: 224
Genre: Fantasy | Graphic Novel
Age Range: YA
Rep: LGBTQIA+ (Sapphic), Black, Asian
Rating: 4⭐

GoodreadsAmazonChapters|IndigoBook Depository IndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

Pretty Little Liars meets Teen Wolf in this fast-paced, sharply funny, and patriarchy-smashing graphic novel from author Maggie Tokuda-Hall and artist Lisa Sterle. When the new girl is invited to join her high school’s most popular clique, she can’t believe her luck—and she can’t believe their secret, either: they’re werewolves. Fans of Mariko Tamaki and Elana K. Arnold will devour the snappy dialogue, vivid artwork, and timely social commentary.

Continue reading “Review: Squad by Maggie Tokuda-Hall”

Odds & Ends: 7 Spooky Reads on My TBR

I wanted to do a couple of fun Spooky Read lists for the Spooky season and I thought what better list to start with than ones I have on my TBR. I’m not going to list ones that I’ve already mentioned in my October TBR, that would be the entire list done. No, I want to share some that I’ve put on my TBR that I haven’t heard many people talk about. Also, since I like to know as little as possible going into a thriller and horror, I will not be including synopsis, but I will say what drew me to the book. If you’re wanting to read the synopsis, I’ve provided links to Goodreads for each book.

So, with all that out of the way, in no particular order, here are 10 7 Spooky Reads I have on my TBR.

Continue reading “Odds & Ends: 7 Spooky Reads on My TBR”

Book Tour: The Endless Skies by Shannon Price | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Endless Skies by Shannon Price. I’m always up for a female warrior main character and The Endless Skies has that, plus an entire elite group of warriors! Check out other’s thoughts by scrolling all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Endless Skies by Shannon Price | Spotlight”

Book Tour: City of Shattered Light by Claire Winn | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for City of Shattered Light by Claire Winn. I am so disappointed that I wasn’t able to get to this before my stop! It sounds so good – Sapphic Science Fiction, with a gorgeous cover! Find out other’s thoughts by scrolling all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule with links to other content creators.

Continue reading “Book Tour: City of Shattered Light by Claire Winn | Spotlight”

Book Tour: Everything Within and In Between by Nikki Barthelmess | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Everything Within and In Between by Nikki Barthelmess. This sounds like such a heartfelt, emotional story that sounds amazing, but my heart isn’t ready for emotions just yet. To find out the thoughts of others, including OwnVoices Reviews, be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Everything Within and In Between by Nikki Barthelmess | Spotlight”

Book Tour: The Holiday Switch by Tif Marcelo | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Holiday Switch by Tif Marcelo. Hello Holiday Read! This looks beyond fun and full of holiday spirit. I will 100% be reading this, just maybe a little closer to the holiday season (I’m 100% in the mood for all the spooky reads at the moment). I will be reviewing this once I’ve read it, but if you want to read what other’s thought now, be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Holiday Switch by Tif Marcelo | Spotlight”

2021 October TBR

So September didn’t go exactly as planned (watch out for my Tops & Bottoms Wrap up). But that is behind us now! Time for October’s TBR and you know what that means – ALL THE SPOOKY BOOKS!!!!!!!!!!!! I’m in such a mood for all the spooky books (horrors, thrillers, mysteries) which you’ll be able to tell quickly when you see my TBR. Well, I’m sure that’s enough rambling for now – let’s look at the books on my TBR for October.

Continue reading “2021 October TBR”

First Line Fridays | 1st October

First Lines Fridays is a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words. What if instead of judging a book by its cover, its author or its prestige, we judged it by its opening lines?  If you want to make your own post, follow the rules below:

  • Pick a book off your shelf (it could be your current read or on your TBR) and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines, but don’t give anything else about the book away just yet – you need to hook the reader first
  • Finally… reveal the book!

If you’re using Twitter, don’t forget to use #FirstLinesFridays!

Here we go…

Continue reading “First Line Fridays | 1st October”

Book Tour: As Good as Dead (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #3) by Holly Jackson | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for As Good as Dead (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #3) by Holly Jackson. This is a series I’ve been dying to get into, but sadly need to read the first two. Curious about people’s thoughts? Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Continue reading “Book Tour: As Good as Dead (A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #3) by Holly Jackson | Spotlight”