Review: The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi [with audiobook]

Title: The Kaiju Preservation Society
Author: John Scalzi
Narrator: Wil Wheaton
Publisher: Tor Books
Release Date: March 15th, 2022
Page Length: 264
Genre: Science Fiction
Age Range: Adult
Rating: 5⭐

GoodreadsStoryGraphAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis: The Kaiju Preservation Society is John Scalzi’s first standalone adventure since the conclusion of his New York Times bestselling Interdependency trilogy.

When COVID-19 sweeps through New York City, Jamie Gray is stuck as a dead-end driver for food delivery apps. That is, until Jamie makes a delivery to an old acquaintance, Tom, who works at what he calls “an animal rights organization.” Tom’s team needs a last-minute grunt to handle things on their next field visit. Jamie, eager to do anything, immediately signs on.

Continue reading “Review: The Kaiju Preservation Society by John Scalzi [with audiobook]”

Book Tour: Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson. You caught me! I’m a sucker for any book that has a cat on the cover! Plus Celtic creatures on Halloween night!?!? How could I not want to pick this up in the Fall? Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see what other’s have thought by clicking their link from the tour schedule.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Ravenfall by Kalyn Josephson | Spotlight”

Book Tour: The Decoy Girlfriend by Lillie Vale | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Decoy Girlfriend by Lillie Vale! This sounds really good and my type of RomCom: fake-dating, look-alike/doppelgänger, bookish main character (a writer)! Oddly, these last few months have been the summer of horror since that’s all that’s been calling to me (horrors/thrillers/mysteries), which meant my RomCom reading came to a slow (almost hault!). I’m hoping to pick it up soon though, because it really does sound addictive and good! Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators links.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Decoy Girlfriend by Lillie Vale | Spotlight”

Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise (Six Crimson Cranes #2) by Elizabeth Lim | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Dragon’s Promise (Six Crimson Cranes #2) by Elizabeth Lim. I read Six Crimson Cranes when it first came out and really enjoyed it! I definitely want to reread it before diving back into the finally of this duology! You can find out more about the book below and the schedule has links to other content creators, so you can find out how other’s are feeling about the continuation of Princess Shiori’s story.

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Dragon’s Promise (Six Crimson Cranes #2) by Elizabeth Lim | Spotlight”

Book Tour: Belladonna (Belladonna #1) by Adalyn Grace | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Belladonna (Belladonna #1) by Adalyn Grace. I’ve decided this book was made for me! The synopsis, the cover, the naked book – it’s all just to die for! But to see what other’s thought after reading, be sure to see the tour schedule with links to other content creators. And keep an eye out for my review of this, because it is in the Fall TBR!

Continue reading “Book Tour: Belladonna (Belladonna #1) by Adalyn Grace | Spotlight”

Odds & Ends: The Book Cover Guessing Challenge

Y’all, I’ve fallen behind on my prescheduled posts and I was scrabbling around for a book tag to do this month. Then I found this one through Zezee with Books, who was tagged by Head in the Clouds, Heart in the Books. It looks like this tag was created by Trey Schnarr Books way back in the day – this was a very old tag, but still sounded like a fun, easy one to do in August.

So the rules:
Pick a few books that you know little to nothing about and guess what they are about based on the cover and title. Then, you compare it with the actual blub on Goodreads and see how you fare.

I’ve decided to use Bookstgram to help pick books for me – easiest way for me to find books I know nothing about lol. Here are the five books I’ve picked that I see often, but know nothing about.

Continue reading “Odds & Ends: The Book Cover Guessing Challenge”

Book Tour: A Venom Dark and Sweet (The Book of Tea #2) by Judy I Lin | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for A Venom Dark and Sweet (The Book of Tea #2) by Judy I Lin. Y’all, I’m horrible and STILL haven’t read book 1, but I’m super excited now that the duology is finished cuz now I can binge it! But be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to the tour schedule for links to other content creator’s thoughts.

Continue reading “Book Tour: A Venom Dark and Sweet (The Book of Tea #2) by Judy I Lin | Spotlight”

Book Tour: On the Subject of Unmentionable Things by Julia Walton | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for On the Subject of Unmentionable Things by Julia Walton. This sounds like such a great read dealing with sex ed and social media – sounds like it could be in the vein of The Birds, The Bees and You and Me by Olivia Hinebaugh and The Exact Opposite of Okay by Laura Steven. Links to other content creators and their thoughts can be found in the tour schedule near the end of the post.

Continue reading “Book Tour: On the Subject of Unmentionable Things by Julia Walton | Spotlight”

Review: Alice Austen Lived Here by Alex Gino

Title: Alice Austen Lived Here
Author: Alex Gino
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Release Date: June 7th, 2022
Page Length: 176
Genre: Contemporary
Age Range: Middle Grade
Rep: Queer, Nonbinary
Rating: 4.25⭐

GoodreadsStoryGraphAmazonChapters|IndigoBook DepositoryIndieBound

Goodreads Synopsis:

From the award-winning author of Melissa, a phenomenal novel about queerness past, present, and future.

Sam is very in touch with their own queer identity. They’re nonbinary, and their best friend, TJ, is nonbinary as well. Sam’s family is very cool with it… as long as Sam remembers that nonbinary kids are also required to clean their rooms, do their homework, and try not to antagonize their teachers too much.

Continue reading “Review: Alice Austen Lived Here by Alex Gino”

Book Tour: Beguiled by Cyla Panin | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Beguiled by Cyla Panin. This is Cyla’s sophomore novel and it’s another one I’m dying to pick up. I absolutely love this cover and it’s telling me I need to read it this fall lol. If you’re wanting to find out other’s thoughts, be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom for the tour schedule and links to other content creators’ reviews.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Beguiled by Cyla Panin | Spotlight”