Review: When You Get the Chance by Tom Ryan & Robin Stevenson (ARC)

When You Get the Chance: Ryan, Tom, Stevenson, Robin ...

Title: When You Get the Chance
Author: Tom Ryan and Robin Stevenson
Publisher: Running Press Kids
Release Date:
May 4, 2021
Page Length: 384
Genre: Contemporary
Rep: LGBTQIA+
Age Range: YA
Rating: 4 ⭐
Goodreads Synopsis: Follow cousins on a road trip to Pride as they dive into family secrets and friendships in this contemporary YA novel — perfect for fans of David Levithan and Becky Albertalli.
As kids, Mark and his cousin Talia spent many happy summers together at the family cottage in Ontario, but a fight between their parents put an end to the annual event. Living on opposite coasts — Mark in Halifax and Talia in Victoria — they haven’t seen each other in years. When their grandfather dies unexpectedly, Mark and Talia find themselves reunited at the cottage once again, cleaning it out while the family decides what to do with it.
Mark and Talia are both queer, but they soon realize that’s about all they have in common, other than the fact that they’d both prefer to be in Toronto. Talia is desperate to see her high school sweetheart Erin, who’s barely been in touch since leaving to spend the summer working at a coffee shop in the Gay Village. Mark, on the other hand, is just looking for some fun, and Toronto Pride seems like the perfect place to find it.
When a series of complications throws everything up in the air, Mark and Talia — with Mark’s little sister Paige in tow — decide to hit the road for Toronto. With a bit of luck, and some help from a series of unexpected new friends, they might just make it to the big city and find what they’re looking for. That is, if they can figure out how to start seeing things through each other’s eyes.

GoodreadsAmazonChapter| Indigo – Book Depository

Thank you to Tom Ryan, Robin Stevenson and Running Press Kids for providing me with an eARC through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

Continue reading “Review: When You Get the Chance by Tom Ryan & Robin Stevenson (ARC)”

Book Tour: Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price

Well, better late than never, right?! Welcome to my (late) stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Pride and Premeditation (Jane Austen Murder Mystery #1) by Tirzah Price. This cover, my word! I plan on picking this one up over the summer to officially read and review, but for now be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Continue reading “Book Tour: Pride and Premeditation by Tirzah Price”

Review: Parasol Protectorate Series (or at least what I read)

Well this started out will good intensions. I started this series in January 2021 and I wanted to review it, but I didn’t have a lot to say about the first in the series. So I decided that I’d my first ever series review! I had planned to talk a little bit about each book individually, and hopefully a review of what I thought as a whole, that way it’ll all be in one place. What ended up happening… I read books 1 and 2 then ended up reading about 1/3 of book 3 and decided to DNF (Did Not Finish) it. So here’s what I thought of the series (or at least of what I read).

Continue reading “Review: Parasol Protectorate Series (or at least what I read)”

Friday Favourites | Favourite Books as a Kid

Friday Favourites was originally hosted by Kibby on Something of the Book, but is now hosted by Geeky Galaxy. The rules are:

  • There is a list of bookish topics
  • Write up your post, however you feel, following the topic. Your list can be a list of 2 or a list of 50, whatever you feel like. Go wild!
  • Don’t want to write your favourites? I fully support a list of least favourites too!
Continue reading “Friday Favourites | Favourite Books as a Kid”

2021 April TBR

I can’t believe it’s already April! I have a few that I have to read, some that ARCs I want to read, and just some others to throw in the mix. I’m participating in Reading Rivalry (a Facebook reading group) again this month, but this time I think I’ll wait until my wrap up to say which books fit which prompts. Same with TBR and Beyond’s Egg Hunt (ran by TBR and Beyond Book Club). Alright, I think that’s everything so let’s dive right in.

Continue reading “2021 April TBR”

Book Tour: The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody | Review

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody. I loved Foody’s other series so when a tour came up for it, I couldn’t help but join. Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Thank you to Amanda Foody and Margaret K McElderry Books for providing me with an ARC for this review

Continue reading “Book Tour: The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody | Review”

Friday Favourites | Books That Should Really Be A Film/TV Show by Now

Friday Favourites was originally hosted by Kibby on Something of the Book, but is now hosted by Geeky Galaxy. The rules are:

  • There is a list of bookish topics
  • Write up your post, however you feel, following the topic. Your list can be a list of 2 or a list of 50, whatever you feel like. Go wild!
  • Don’t want to write your favourites? I fully support a list of least favourites too!
Continue reading “Friday Favourites | Books That Should Really Be A Film/TV Show by Now”