Book Tour: New Dragon City by Mari Mancusi | Author Interview

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for New Dragon City by Mari Mancusi. This cover immediately drew me in and had me hooked with the first sentence of the synopsis! I was so happy to get the chance to interview Mari Mancusi, which you can find below the author and book info. Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators too.

Thank you to Mari Mancuis for taking the time to answer my questions.

Meet Author

Mari Mancusi is a former Emmy award winning TV producer and author of more than two dozen sci-fi/fantasy books for kids, teens and adults including Gamer Girl, the Scorched series, The Blood Coven Vampires, and her newest series, The Camelot Code: The Once and Future Geek, published by Disney Books.

Her bestselling series have been chosen as featured selections in the Scholastic Book Fairs and clubs and have been selected by the American Library Association as “Quick Picks for Reluctant Readers” and “Popular Paperbacks.” In addition to writing, Mari is an avid cosplayer, horror aficionado, and MMORPG gamer. She lives in Austin, Texas with her husband and their young daughter. She can be found online at http://www.marimancusi.com.

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Goodreads | YouTube | TikTok

About The Book

Title: New Dragon City
Author: Mari Mancusi
Publisher: Little Brown Books for Young Readers
Publishing Date: October 4th, 2022
Page Length: 352
Genre: Fantasy
Age Range: Middle Grade
Synopsis:

Set off on a high-stakes, action-packed adventure in this story about friendship, survival, and fighting for ones you love, perfect for fans of Wings of Fire and How to Train Your Dragon

No one predicted the dragon apocalypse. The dragons came suddenly and decimated the world as we knew it, including New York City. Now, three years later, Noah, his hardcore survivalist father, and a ragtag group of survivors are barely scraping by in this new reality. Kids scavenge not only for materials in abandoned homes but also for leftover books at the library. Adults spend their time establishing a make-shift society and defending their shelter… with any means available. At least for the few months the dragons are hibernating, until it’s no longer safe aboveground.

Noah has seen the damage these creatures can do firsthand. When it comes to dragons: It’s kill or be killed. But a chance encounter between Noah and a young dragon forces him to question everything he thought he knew. With rumors spreading that there’s a group of survivors living in harmony with dragons instead of hiding underground, Noah teams up with his fire-breathing ally to find out if peace between humans and dragons is really possible. But the division runs deeper than scales versus skin because trying to follow his heart might just cost Noah his family too. If Noah and his father can’t see eye to eye, can he really get humans and dragons to?

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Interview

In up to 9 words or emojis, without spoilers, what can readers expect from New Dragon City?

🐉 👦 🔥 🍎 ❤️ 💥

Without spoilers, which dragon did you have the most fun creating/writing?

I loved writing from Asha’s point of view. Dragons see the world differently than humans, but still have similar emotions and love for their families/herds. I loved getting to know her and see her bond with Noah.

If you were to go scavenging with Noah, what would you hope to find together?

I’d look for video games, records, DVDs – anything that could be used for entertainment. It’d also be cool to find some limited edition Disney dolls, which is something I collect.

If you could cosplay with any character in New Dragon City, who would it be and who would you two cosplay as?

Sadly New Dragon City doesn’t totally lend itself to cosplay as people mostly just wear whatever clothes they can scavenge from before the apocalypse. But I did see a young reader come to meet me at DragonCon dressed as Noah, complete with her burnt pants, which he has in the book!

With your favourite genres to read being scifi, fantasy, and horror I thought it would be fun to get recommendations from you, so here’s my question: what horror, scifi, and fantasy books would you recommend to someone who loved New Dragon City? (One for each genre please 😊).

Horror: Mine, Delilah Dawson

Sci-fi: Battle Dragons, Alex London

Fantasy: The Hero and the Crown, Robin McKinley

You are a school speaker and talk to students about the importance of having a growth mindset.  Can you briefly talk about that here and how you incorporate that message into your books, and which ones (if only in certain ones or ages groups)? When do you believe a growth mindset should be taught in order for a student to best succeed?

A lot of kids have the mindset of, “I can’t do that”, which is a fixed mindset. And we want to move the dial to a mindset of, “I can’t do that…yet” which is a growth mindset. No one starts out as a published author, for example. It takes hard work, guidance, strategies and mistakes to achieve any goal. Those who believe this to be true have a better chance of actually making it come true versus those who basically take themselves out of the game, believing they’re just not good enough and never will be. Sure, we all have certain aptitudes—things we’re naturally better at—but everyone has the ability to change and grow if they have the right mindset. When I do workshops in schools, I talk about some of my own setbacks and failures as a writer over the years and how I worked through them to get to where I am today. I like to tell them, “There’s always room for improvement…and pizza.”

Tour Schedule

Blog Schedule

October 3rd
Kait Plus Books – Interview
The Girl Who Reads – Review

October 4th
Boys’ Mom Reads! – Review
Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review & Playlist

October 5th
The Ink Slinger – Review & Favorite Quotes
The Someday Librarian – Review

October 6th
Nine Bookish Lives – Interview
Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review

October 7th
The Momma Spot – Review
Booky Cat – Top 5 Reasons to Read New Dragon City, Review & Favorite Quotes

October 8th
Debjani’s Thoughts – Review & Favorite Quotes
The Bookwyrm’s Den – Review

October 9th
The Book Dutchesses – Interview
laura’sboookish life – Review

Instagram Schedule

October 3rd
get.outside.and.read – Review & Favorite Quotes
bookstagramofmine – Blogger’s Choice

October 4th
writingrosereads – Promotional Post
morningstarlitpages – Top 5 Reasons to Read New Dragon City

October 5th
gryffindorbookishnerd – Review
thesomedaylibrarian – Blogger’s Choice

October 6th
fictionalfey – Review & Book Look
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice
popthebutterfly – Blogger’s Choice

October 7th
tinybooknest – Favorite Quotes
bookycatbooks – Blogger’s Choice

October 8th
tbrandbeyond – Promotional Post
dhirviepages – Top 5 Reasons to Read New Dragon City & Mood Board

October 9th
theenchantedshelf – Review
laurasbookishlife1 – Blogger’s Choice

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s