Book Tour: Hollow Fires by Samira Ahmed | Spotlight

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for Hollow Fires by Samira Ahmed. I’ve been reading more and more mystery/thrillers/horrors lately, and when I saw this was a tour, I was immediately interested. This sounds like a powerful read and I have high expectations after being compared to Sadie! I’ve also been meaning to read from this author for a long time now, so I really should pick this up soon than later lol.

Meet Author

Samira Ahmed is the bestselling author of Love, Hate & Other FiltersInternmentMad, Bad & Dangerous to Know, and  Amira & Hamza: The War to Save the Worlds, as well as a Ms. Marvel comic book mini-series.  Her poetry, essays, and short stories have appeared in numerous publications and anthologies including the New York TimesTake the MicColor Outside the LinesVampires Never Get Old and A Universe of Wishes.

She was born in Bombay, India, and grew up in Batavia, Illinois, in a house that smelled like fried onions, spices, and potpourri. A graduate of the University of Chicago, Samira has taught high school English in both the suburbs of Chicago and New York City, worked in education non-profits, and spent time on the road for political campaigns.

Samira currently lives in the Midwest. When she’s not reading or writing, she can be found on her lifelong quest for the perfect pastry.

About The Book

Title: Hollow Fires
Author: Samira Ahmed
Publisher: Little Brown for Young Readers
Publishing Date: May 10th, 2022
Page Length: 416
Genre: Mystery | Thriller
Age Range: YA
Rep: South East Asian (Indian) & Muslim
Synopsis: A powerful, gripping YA novel about the insidious nature of racism, the terrible costs of unearthing hidden truths, and the undeniable power of hope, by New York Times bestselling author Samira Ahmed. Perfect for fans of Sadie and Dear Martin.

Safiya Mirza dreams of becoming a journalist. And one thing she’s learned as editor of her school newspaper is that a journalist’s job is to find the facts and not let personal biases affect the story. But all that changes the day she finds the body of a murdered boy.

Jawad Ali was fourteen years old when he built a cosplay jetpack that a teacher mistook for a bomb. A jetpack that got him arrested, labeled a terrorist—and eventually killed. But he’s more than a dead body, and more than “Bomb Boy.” He was a person with a life worth remembering.

Driven by Jawad’s haunting voice guiding her throughout her investigation, Safiya seeks to tell the whole truth about the murdered boy and those who killed him because of their hate-based beliefs.

This gripping and powerful book uses an innovative format and lyrical prose to expose the evil that exists in front of us, and the silent complicity of the privileged who create alternative facts to bend the truth to their liking.

Goodreads | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Book Depository | Indigo | IndieBound

Content Warning: Islamophobia, accusation of terrorism

Tour Schedule

Blog Schedule

May 9th
Stuck in Fiction – Promotional Post
Cindy’s Love of Books – Review
I Dream in Books – Review

May 10th
Kait Plus Books – Promotional Post
Phannie the ginger bookworm – Review & Favorite Quotes

May 11th
Confessions of a Reading Addict – Review & Playlist
The Book Dutchesses – Promotional Post
PopTheButterfly Reads – Review

May 12th
Nine Bookish Lives – Promotional Post
AndOnSheReads – Review
A Book and Chai – Review

May 13th
Mochas and madness – Review, Favorite Quotes, & Mood Board
Jen Jen Reviews – Review
Ravenz Reviewz – Review

May 14th
The Caffeinated Rareder – Review & Favorite Quotes
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review

May 15th
Signediza – Review & Favorite Quotes
What Irin Reads – Review
the nutty bookworm reads alot – Review

Instagram Schedule

May 9th
feliciareads11 – Blogger’s Choice
idreaminbooks – Blogger’s Choice

May 10th
writingrosereads – Promotional Post
booksatlunch – Review

May 11th
katreadstoomanybooks – Review
popthebutterfly – Blogger’s Choice

May 12th
tbrandbeyond – Promotional Post
lilmissfiction – Review
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice

May 13th
bibliovino – Review
mochas_and_madness15 – Blogger’s Choice

May 14th
musfira._ – Mood Board
thecaffeinatedrareder – Blogger’s Choice

May 15th
bhaneereads – Top 5 Reasons to Read Hollow Fires
signediza – Blogger’s Choice

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s