Book Tour: The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody | Review

Welcome to my stop on the TBR and Beyond Tours Book Tour for The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody. I loved Foody’s other series so when a tour came up for it, I couldn’t help but join. Be sure to scroll all the way to the bottom to see the tour schedule for other content creators.

Thank you to Amanda Foody and Margaret K McElderry Books for providing me with an ARC for this review

Meet Author

Amanda Foody has always considered imagination to be our best attempt at magic. After a double life as an accountant preparing taxes for multinational corporations, she now spends her free time brewing and fermenting foods much more easily obtained at her local grocery store. She lives in Boston, MA with a hoard of books guarded by the most vicious of feline companions, Jelly Bean. 

Her books include The Shadow Game seriesand more. Her middle grade debut, Wilderlore: The Accidental Apprentice, hits shelves March 30, 2021, and her next YA novel, All of Us Villains, co-authored with Christine Lynn Herman, releases on November 9, 2021. 

About The Book

Title: The Accidental Apprentice
Series: Wilderlore #1
Author: Amanda Foody
Publisher: Margaret K McElderry Books
Publishing Date: March 30, 2021
Page Length: 304
Genre: Fantasy
Age Range: Middle Grade
Rating: 4⭐
Synopsis:

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this whimsical and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town’s mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town’s most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay’s horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he’s always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him. 

GoodreadsAmazonBarnes & NobleBook DepositoryChapters|IndigoIndieBound

My Thoughts

From the moment I started this, I knew I was going to love it.

It was such a fun adventure story that had humour sprinkled throughout. I loved the magic system, and learning it along side Barclay. It also had a magical competition, which I wish we had spent a little more time focusing on.

The characters were all interesting and had me interested in all their backstories. I want to know more about Viola and Tadg, and even Runa, which I have a feeling we’ll learn more about in the upcoming books.

Looking at the magic, I don’t think I’ve read anything quite like this one. I love that people can bond with magical animals and that the animal becomes a sort of living tattoo! Like can you imagine 😍 the problem would be limiting myself – but I could have cats, dogs, foxes! all as pets and kept with me as a tattoo. I’d like to think I’d leave them out, like other Lore (magic) wielders.

The world was imaginative, but felt familiar. I love that there are six different areas and I have a feeling we will get to see them all at some point (so excited).

This story is about the feeling of belonging, self-acceptance, and the importance of right and wrong. I think Foody handled all these well and without being pandering towards the reader.

Like her other series, I found The Accidental Apprentice to be captivating. I managed to binge it all in one night and can’t wait to continue in the series. I think you’ll like this one if you enjoyed series like How to Train Your Dragon, The Elementals (Ami Kaufman), and Nevermoor.

Tour Schedule

Blog Schedule

March 30th
Kait Plus Books – Author Guest Post
TLC Book Nook – Review, Favourite Quotes & Mood Board
Balancing Books and Beauties – Review & Top 5 Reasons to Read the Accidental Apprentice

March 31st
Nine Bookish Lives – Review
The Review Booth – Review
The Bookwyrm’s Den – Review & Favourite Quotes

April 1st
The Book Dutchesses – Review
Velarisreads – Review
Allisa White’s Book Blog – Review & Mood Board
Storme Reads a Lot – Review

April 2nd
Stuck in the Stacks – Interview
The Book View – Review
The Writer’s Alley – Review & Playlist
Adventurous Bookworm – Review & Favourite Quotes

April 3rd
The Wandering Wordsmith – Review
Confessions of a YA Reader – Review & Favourite Quotes
Gwendalyn’s Books – Review
teatimelit – Review

April 4th
TBR and Beyond – Review
Levicorpvs Blog – Review
Lauren’s Boookshelf – Review & Favourite Quotes

April 5th
Stuck in Fiction – Author Guest Post
I’m All About Books – Promo Post
Justice For Readers – Review, Playlist & Mood Board

Instagram Schedule

March 30th
kaitplusbooks – Blogger’s Choice
tlcbooknook – Blogger’s Choice
balancing_books_and_beauties – Blogger’s Choice

March 31st
ninebookishlives – Blogger’s Choice
thereviewbooth – Blogger’s Choice
srbetler – Blogger’s Choice

April 1st
thebookdutchesses – Blogger’s Choice
velarisreads – Blogger’s Choice
allisawhitebooks – Blogger’s Choice

April 2nd
stuck.in.the.stacks – Blogger’s Choice
thebookviewblog – Blogger’s Choice
jrundy85 – Blogger’s Choice
adventturous.bookworm – Blogger’s Choice

April 3rd
de.the.wordsmith – Blogger’s Choice
confessionsofayareader – Blogger’s Choice
gwendalyn_books_ – Blogger’s Choice

April 4th
tbrandbeyond – Blogger’s Choice
levicorpvs_ – Blogger’s Choice
laurensbookshelf – Blogger’s Choice

April 5th
feliciareads11 – Blogger’s Choice
justiceforreaders – Blogger’s Choice

5 thoughts on “Book Tour: The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) by Amanda Foody | Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s